Certification Examination

All PAC certifications require a passing grade of 80% or higher on our competency-based proctored examinations. Our examinations assess educational proficiency in clinical and technical knowledge required of nurses or other professionals practicing in the Post-Acute Care environment. The proctored examination is available any time (24/7) after registration and acceptance of the application for the exam. Applicants can take the exam based on their academic preparedness obtained from any institution or program. InsPAC offers preparatory courses for all the PAC certifications for a fee, but the InsPAC courses are not mandatory in order to take the certification exam. Test takers are free to prepare for the exam with any other vendor. CEUs are not offered to applicants who acquire the certification by taking the competency-based assessment examination without completion of the PAC preparatory courses.

Benefits of Certification


Some PAC Courses are eligible for Nursing CEUs, and all PAC Courses offer Contact Hours.  For CEU eligible courses, candidates who elect to complete the PAC courses prior to taking the certification examination may obtain Nursing Contact Hours (approved by the American Nurses credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation (ANCC) once all requirements are met. Among the requirements are completion of the course curriculum, and completion of the course evaluation. Contact Hours are offered for all PAC for satisfactory completion of all PAC courses. 

  • Enhances professional credibility
  • Extends knowledge and skills
  • Serves as a proof of ability
  • Enriches self-image and reputation with peers
  • Improves career opportunities
  • Increases earning potential

Eligibility Requirements

The following are specific requirements for the various certifications:

  • For PAC-NE, PAC-DON, PAC-NL, PAC-RN, and PAC- CSE, an active and unencumbered RN license within a state or territory of the United States is required. 
  • An unencumbered LPN license within a state or territory of the United States is a prerequisite for the PAC-LPN certification
  • An unencumbered CNA license within a state or territory of the United States is a prerequisite for the PAC-CNA certification
  • Any professional with work experience in the PAC environment is eligible for the PAC-HHP certification
  • Demonstrated work in the post-acute care space (nursing homes, assisted living, long-term acute care hospital (LTACH), or home health care)
  • A passing grade of 80% or higher in the competency-based examination
  • Please note that each available certification may list additional requirements.

Certification Credentials and Duration

After obtaining a passing grade on the online competency-based assessment examination and fulfilling all InsPAC requirements, candidates are allowed to use the credentials of the examination taken. The certification is valid for two years. The National Council of Post-Acute Care Standard of Excellence team accredits all the PAC certifications.

Code of Ethics for PAC-Certification Holders

InsPAC certifications are awarded to the diverse professional careers in the post-acute care industry, and it is expected that credential holders will uphold the ethical obligations of their profession. To attain and demonstrate a standard of excellence in professional practice, the code of ethics should form the core moral principles of the individual, and should underline the judgment, decision making, and professional work. While InsPAC offers certifications for other professions aside from nursing, the Nursing Code of Ethics as enumerated by the American Nursing Association (ANA) should characterize the moral foundation for our PAC-certified nurses. InsPAC recommends that all PAC awardees must commit beyond the law, demonstrate a commitment to the public good, be responsible stewards of resources, and exude transparency, integrity, and honesty at all times.

Difference between a Certification and a Certificate

A certificate is evidence of education while a certification is evidence of passing an examination or meeting industry standards.

What is a Certification? What is a Certificate?
Earned Credentials e.g: PAC-RN, PAC-NE and can only be achieved by examination. No earned credentials-Certificate of completion and CEUs provided where applicable.
Focuses on industry standards and recognizes the knowledge, skills, and competency required by a specific job. Focuses on education, training, course completion, and intended learning outcomes.

Measures competency through recertification and renewal requirements set by a certification board. Competency is not measured-Recertification and renewals are not required.

Examinations are periodically updated based on job analysis, and evidence-based processes to ensure the certifications meet current professional practice. The examination is normally not a requirement.

Certifications require oversight of an external oversight board. No oversight is required.

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.